Dr. Karly Kehoe named to Royal Society of Canada’s College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists

Dr. Karly Kehoe

Dr. Karly Kehoe

The Royal Society of Canada (RSC) recently announced the incoming 70 members of The College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists for 2017, and among those honoured with admission to the cohort was Saint Mary’s Professor of History Dr. Karly Kehoe.

“I’m absolutely delighted with the news, and I look forward to working with colleagues to expand the College’s activities in Atlantic Canada,” says Dr. Kehoe.

Dr. Kehoe is the Canada Research Chair in Atlantic Canada Communities, and her areas of expertise include migration, religion, and slavery in the British Atlantic world. She is also a member of both the Global Young Academy and the Young Academy of Scotland, and is a fellow of the Royal Historical Society.

“An important research focus for me right now is an exploration of how community development in eastern Nova Scotia and Cape Breton was connected to plantation slavery in the Caribbean,” she says. “The work I’d done in Scotland before returning to Canada revealed that the Highlander Scots were hugely invested in slavery. Those who came to the Maritimes built equally strong links, but in different ways. Being named to the College will provide me with an important platform for sharing this important work and for exploring its interdisciplinarity.”

Those named to the College “represent the emerging generation of scholarly, scientific and artistic leadership in Canada,” according to the RSC, and this year’s cohort includes members from Canadian universities coast-to-coast, nominated by Canadian universities and the National Research Council.

“Dr. Kehoe is an innovative researcher with a deep commitment to community engagement,” says Saint Mary’s Dean of Arts Dr. Margaret MacDonald. “I am delighted that she has been named to the College and will be representing Saint Mary’s in this group of emerging scholarly leaders.”

The RSC: The Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada was established in 1882 as the senior Canadian collegium of distinguished scholars, artists, and scientists. It is Canada’s National Academy. The primary objective of the Society is to promote learning and research in the arts, the humanities, and the natural and social sciences.